B O A R D   O F   T R U S T E E S

  

INSTITUTIONAL TRUSTEES

Dr. Kamran Aghaie

Director

Center for Middle Eastern Studies

The University of Texas at Austin

kamrana@mail.utexas.edu

Dr. Abbas Amanat

Professor of History and Chair, Council on Middle Eastern Studies

Yale Center for International and Area Studies

Yale University

abbas.amanat@yale.edu

 

Dr. Joan Aruz

Curator

Department of Ancient Near Eastern Art

Metropolitan Museum of Art

Joan.Aruz@metmuseum.org

Dr. Kathryn Babayan
Associate Professor of Iranian History and Culture
Department of Near Eastern Studies
University of Michigan

babayan@umich.edu

Dr. Anne Betteridge

Director, Center for Middle Eastern Studies

School of Middle Eastern & North African Studies

University of Arizona
anneb@email.arizona.edu

Dr. Elizabeth Carter

Professor of Near Eastern Archaeology

Department of Near Eastern Languages and Cultures

University of California, Los Angeles
carter@humnet.ucla.edu

Dr. Houchang Chehabi

Professor of International Relations and History

Department of International Relations

Boston University
chehabi@bu.edu

 

 

Dr. Touraj Daryaee

Baskerville Professor in the History of Iran and the Persianate World

Associate Director, Dr. Samuel M. Jordan Center for Persian Studies and Culture

School of Humanities

University of California, Irvine

tdaryaee@uci.edu

 

 

Dr. Dick Davis

Emeritus

Department of Near Eastern Languages and Cultures

Ohio State University

davis.77@osu.edu

 

 

Dr. Carl Ernst

Professor, Department of Religious Studies

Director, Carolina Center for the Study of the Middle East and Muslim Civilizations

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

cernst@email.unc.edu

 

 

Dr. Hadi Esfahani

Professor of Economics

Director of Center for South Asian and Middle Eastern Studies

University of Illinois

esfahani@illinois.edu

   

Dr. Massumeh Farhad

Associate Curator of Islamic Art

Freer Gallery of Art/Arthur Sackler Gallery

Smithsonian Institution

farhama@si.edu


Dr. Mark B. Garrison

Chair and Professor

Department of Art and Art History

Trinity University

mgarriso@trinity.edu


Dr. Gene Garthwaite

Professor of History and Asian Studies

Department of History

Dartmouth College

gene.garthwaite@dartmouth.edu


Dr. Iago Gocheleishvili

Lecturer

Department of Near Eastern Studies

Cornell University

ig44@cornell.edu


Dr. Hani Khafipour

Lecturer

Middle East Studies Program

University of Southern California

hanik@usc.edu

   

Dr. Mohammad Mehdi Khorrami

Clinical Professor of Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies

Department of Middle Eastern Studies

New York University

mmk4@nyu.edu

   

Dr. Pedram Khosronejad

Farzaneh Family Scholar, Associate Director for Iranian and Persian Gulf Studies

School of International Studies

Oklahoma State University

pedram.khosronejad@okstate.edu

   

Dr. Linda Komaroff

Curator of Islamic Art

Department of Ancient and Islamic Art

Los Angeles County Museum of Art

lindak@lacma.org

   

Dr. Beatrice Manz

Professor of History

Department of History   

Tufts University   

beatrice.manz@tufts.edu

   

Dr. Afshin Marashi

Associate Professor, Department of International and Area Studies

Farzaneh Family Chair of Iranian Studies, Center for Middle East Studies

University of Oklahoma

amarashi@ou.edu


Dr. Roy Mottahedeh

Professor of History

Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

Harvard University

mottahed@fas.harvard.edu


Dr. Cyrus Schayegh

Associate Professor; Director, Program in Near Eastern Studies

Department of Near Eastern Studies

Princeton University

schayegh@princeton.edu


Dr. Brian Spooner

Professor

Department of Anthropology

University of Pennsylvania

spooner@sas.upenn.edu


Dr. Devin Stewart

Associate Professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies

Department of Middle Eastern and South Asian Studies

Emory University

dstewart@emory.edu

    

Dr. Matthew Stolper

Professor of Assyriology

Oriental Institute

University of Chicago

m-stolper@chicago.edu

    

Dr. David Stronach

Professor of Near Eastern Archaeology

Department of Near Eastern Studies

University of California, Berkeley

stronach@socrates.berkeley.edu

TRUSTEES-AT-LARGE -

Dr. Sussan Babaie

Andrew W. Mellon Scholar

Courtauld Institute of Art

sbabaie@me.com

Dr. Shiva Balaghi

International Humanities Fellow

Cogut Center

Brown University

shiva_balaghi@brown.edu

Dr. William Beeman

Professor and Chair

Department of Anthropology

University of Minnesota

wbeeman@umn.edu

Dr. Franklin Lewis

Associate Professor of Persian

Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

University of Chicago

flewis@uchicago.edu

   

LIFE TRUSTEES -

Dr. Robert H. Dyson

Emeritus Senior Fellow

Department of Anthropology

University of Pennsylvania Museum

   

Dr. William Hanaway

Professor Emeritus

AMES

Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

University of Pennsylvania

   

Dr. Ehsan Yarshater

Director, Center for Iranian Studies

Editor, Encyclopedia Iranica

Columbia University

 

 

ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO THE BOARD

 

Dr. Guitty Azarpay

 

Professor Emerita

 

Department of Near Eastern Studies, University of California, Berkeley

 

azarpay@comcast.net

 

 

 

Dr. Sheila R. Canby

 

Curator Patti Cadby Birch Curator in Charge

 

Department of Islamic Art, Metropolitan Museum of Art

 

sheila.canby@metmuseum.org

 

Dr. Prudence O. Harper

 

Curator Emerita

 

Department of Ancient Near Eastern Art, Metropolitan Museum of Art

 

prudenceharper@aol.com

Dr. Charles Kurzman

Professor of Sociology

Department of Sociology

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

kurzman@unc.edu

Dr. Judith Lerner

Independent Art Historian and Market Research Consultant

jjudith.lerner@earthlink.net

 

 

 

Dr. Paul Losensky

 

Professor of Iranian Studies

 

Department of Central Eurasian Studies

 

Indiana University

 

plosensk@indiana.edu

  

 

Dr. Daniel Potts

 

Professor of Ancient Near Eastern Archaeology and History

 

Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, New York University

 

daniel.potts@nyu.edu